Research Guides: Digital Images: Digital Image Resources

ARTstor on JStor

With a collection of over 3 million images, including 25,000 contributed by MassArt to support our own cirriculum, the ARTstor Digital Library is an excellent resource for sourcing high quality images across many disciplines. The ArtStor Library is now intergrated with JStor and the entire collection is available through Google Single Sign on. Simply chose "log in with Google" and choose your MassArt email account when asked to sign in.

For help with ArtStor on JStor contact Caitlin Pereira cpereira@massart.edu

For more help use this guide - https://guides.jstor.org/images
Images by collection
Guide to Searching and Browsing Collections

Museum and Library Collections

The Getty
The Getty Search Gateway allows users to search across several of the Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids.
Metropolitan Museum of Art
Browse over 400,000 images or works from the collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City.
Rijksmuseum
Search nearly 500,000 images with no copyright restriction.
Smithsonian Images Collections Search Center
Easy "one-stop searching" of more than 6.4 million from the Smithsonian's museum, archives, library and research holdings and collections. Browse by museum or search across all art, science, and history images for what you need.
Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
Contains digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. The Library of Congress offers broad public access to these materials as a contribution to education and scholarship.
NYPL Digital Gallery
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Gallica - Bibliothèque nationale de France
Gallica is the digital library of the National Library of France and its partners. Online since 1997, it is enriched every week with thousands of new features and today offers access to several million documents.
Huntington Digital Library
The Huntington Digital Library is the online database of Huntington Library digitized materials. It aims to support the research needs of Huntington readers and staff and to share digitized resources with a broader community. New content is regularly added, yet only a fraction of the Huntington Library’s more than eleven million items is available in digitized form.

Other Digital Image Projects

Artsy
A portal for art collectors and admirers which declares their stated mission is to "make all the world’s art accessible to anyone with an Internet connection". At present they have a database of 195,00 images of art, design, and architecture, with a particular strength in contemporary work.
Google Arts & Culture
Discover artworks, collections, and stories from all around the world like never before. Explore cultural treasures in extraordinary detail and easily share with your friends.
Flickr Commons
Flickr Commons contains images from some of the world's greatest cultural institutions all without copyright restrictions.
OpenGLAM
OpenGLAM Open Collections have brought together collections from around the world that provide digital scans or photos that can be freely used without any restrictions.

Search Tools

Creative Commons Search
Search for content in Google, Flickr, Wikimedia that has various Creative Commons licenses. Images found with CC licenses may be freely used or used with fewer restrictions than with conventionally copyrighted works.
TinEye
Tin Eye is a reverse image search engine. It can help find the source of an unknown file, or higher quality examples of that same image.
TinEye Multircolor
This service allows you to search images in Flickr by color.

Research Question?

Ask at the Library Front Desk
Email library@massart.edu
Call 617-879-7150

Sculpture: Richard Artschwager,
Question Mark,1994
Photo: Stefan Baudy, CC-BY License

Copyright Checkpoint

ArtStor Copyright Checkpoint
Unsure if an image is in the public domain? Use this tool to determine image rights.

Digital Images: Digital Image Resources