Search Everything at the MassArt Library
Recommended Books on the History of Animation
-
Animation: A World History
by
Giannalberto Bendazzi's three-volume Animation: A World History is the largest, deepest, most comprehensive text of its kind, based on the idea that animation is an art form that deserves its own place in scholarship. Bendazzi delves beyond just Disney, offering readers glimpses into the animation of Russia, Africa, Latin America, and other often-neglected areas and introducing over fifty previously undiscovered artists.
Call Number: NC1765 .B4213 2016, 3 vols. -
Animation Now!
by
The eighty studios included have from six to eight spreads showing stills, roughs, storyboards and sometimes model sheets. The colour, design and printing are first-class. Most of the studios are American, no surprise there but the rest of the world gets a good showing,
Call Number: TR897.5 .A56 2004 -
The Anime Machine:
by
Thomas Lamarre contends that the history, techniques, and complex visual language of animation, particularly Japanese animation, demands serious and sustained engagement, and in The Anime Machine he lays the foundation for a new critical theory for reading Japanese animation, showing how anime fundamentally differs from other visual media.
Call Number: NC1766.J3 L36 2009 -
Cartoons: One Hundred Years of Cinema Animation
by
Traces the history of animation since the late nineteenth century, profiles animators and films from throughout the world, and discusses the development of the more abstract European style as well as the more commercial American approach.
Call Number: NC1765 .B4213 1994 -
A Century of Stop-Motion Animation
by
A pioneer shares his memories and insights on the technique he defined.
Call Number: TR897.5 .H37 2008 -
Japanese Animation
by
Brigitte Koyama-Richard studies the evolution of Japanese animation through the centuries, retracing its history from painted scrolls to woodblock prints, to animated films, first in black and white, and then in color. A number of prominent artists are showcased, including Tezuka Osamu, the "godfather of anime," and Hayao Miyazaki.
Call Number: NC1766.J3 K69 2010 -
Moving Innovation
by
Computer graphics (or CG) has changed the way we experience the art of moving images.Computer graphics is the difference between Steamboat Willie and Buzz Lightyear, between ping pong and PONG. It began in 1963 when an MIT graduate student named Ivan Sutherland created the first true computer animation program. Instead of presenting a series of numbers, Sutherland's Sketchpad program drew lines that created recognizable images.
Call Number: TR897.7 .S48 2013 -
A New History of Animation
by
Call Number: NC1765 . F873 2016 -
Unsung Heroes of Animation
by
"When future cinema archaeologists dig deep into the history of the art form that was animation, and its artists, during the late 20th and early 21st centuries, this excellent collection of insightful biographical essays by Chris Robinson, a modern Vasari, will provide invaluable illumination...." —John Canemaker
Call Number: NC1765 .R62 2005 -
The World History of Animation
by
"Lavishly illustrated and encyclopedic in scope, The World History of Animation tells the genre’s 100-year-old story around the globe, featuring key players in Europe, North America, and Asia. From its earliest days, animation has developed multiple iterations and created myriad dynamic styles, innovative techniques, iconic characters, and memorable stories. Stephen Cavalier’s comprehensive account is organized chronologically and covers pioneers, feature films, television programs, digital films, games, independent films, and the web. An exhaustive time line of films and innovations acts as the narrative backbone, and must-see films are listed along with synopses and in-depth biographies of individuals and studios."
Call Number: NC1765 .C382 2011
Books on the Art of Animation (for Inspiration)
-
The Art of DreamWorks Animation
by
Brimming with concept art, preproduction designs, and character sketches, DreamWorks Animation marks the studio's 20th anniversary and offers unprecedented behind-the-scenes access into its archives. An introduction by DreamWorks co-founder Katzenberg provides insider perspective on the studio's most popular films, as does running commentary from artists and directors on all of DreamWorks' 30 films to date.
Call Number: NC1766.U52 D733 2014 -
The Art of Pixar: the complete colorscripts and select art from 25 years of animation
by
Over the past 25 years, Pixar's team of artists, writers, and directors have shaped the world of contemporary animation with their feature films and shorts. From classics such as Toy Story and A Bug's Life to recent masterpieces such as Up, Toy Story 3, and Cars 2, this comprehensive collection offers a behind-the-scenes tour of every Pixar film to date.
Call Number: NC1766.U52 P5832 2011 -
The Art of Spirited Away, Vol. 1
by
Large-size, hardcover coffee-table book featuring artwork from the renowned animated film, Spirited Away, directed by Hayao Miyazaki. Features commentary, colour stills, sketches, storyboards, and illustrations used to envision the rich fantasy world of the film. Also includes a complete English-language script.
Call Number: NC1766.J3 A78 2002 -
Avatar: the last airbender : the art of the animated series
by
An unprecedented look at the concept, design, and production art behind this smash-hit series, "Avatar: The Last Airbender, The Art of the Animated Series" chronicles the show's development -- from the very first sketch through to the series finale and beyond! -- along with behind-the-scenes commentary from series creators Bryan Konietzko and Michael Dante DiMartino.
Call Number: NC1765 .A93 2010 -
Cartoon Modern: style and design in fifties animation
by
Between the classic films of Walt Disney in the 1940s and the televised cartoon revolution of the 1960s was a critical period in the history of animation. Amid Amidi, of the influential Animation Blast magazine and CartoonBrew blog, charts the evolution of the modern style in animation, which largely discarded the "lifelike" aesthetic for a more graphic and often abstract approach.
Call Number: NC1766.U5 A47 2006 -
Dream Worlds: production design in animation
by
Hans Bacher is acknowledged as one of the greats of animation art direction, and DREAM WORLDS represents his unparalleled access to Disney's archives where he uncovered eye-popping examples of both his own work and that of his colleagues. With illustrations from Bambi, Mulan, Beauty and the Beast, Lilo & Stitch and many more, it is a visual feast of never-before-seen artwork, complete with insight from the artist on how and why the designs were created.
Call Number: NC1765 .B233 2013 -
Layout and Background: Walt Disney Animation Studios
by
From the simplest ink washes of the earliest Disney animated shorts, throught lush paintings of the studio's classic features to the stunning, computer renderings of recent releases, the amazingly inspiring works of Disney artists are lavishly showcased in Layout & Background, the fourth volume in the Walt Disney Animation Studios.
Call Number: NC1766.U52 L38 2011 -
Magic Color Flair: The World of Mary Blair
by
The work of Disney designer and illustrator Mary Blair is more than just acclaimed—it is adored. She has charmed generations with her whimsical creations, from stunning art direction for Cinderella and Peter Pan to the wowing and wonderful “It’s a Small World” ride at Disneyland. Magic Color Flair celebrates this Disney icon, tracing the evolution of her mesmerizing style and showcasing her work in gorgeous, full-color imagery.
Call Number: NC1766.U52 C36 2014 -
They Drew As They Pleased: the hidden art of Disney's Golden Age, the 1930s
by
They Drew as They Pleased is the first in what promises to be a revealing and fascinating series of books about Disney's largely unexamined concept artists, with six volumes spanning the decades between the 1930s and 1990s
Call Number: NC1766.U5 D55 2015
How-To Books and DVDs on Animation
-
The Animator's Survival Kit
by
The Academy Award-winning artist draws on his master instruction classes to demonstrate essential techniques required of animators of any skill level or method, in an updated edition that provides expanded coverage of such topics as animal gaits and live action.
Call Number: NC1765 .W55 2009 -
The Animator's Survival Kit (DVD Set)
by
What has cost me millions of dollars and over 30 years to learn, I've now put into a 16-DVD box-set combining my Animation Masterclasses with over 400 specially animated examples.
Call Number: ANIMATED Animator's DVD, 16 vols. -
Directing Animation
by
In addition to over eighty photographs and illustrations, Directing Animation includes insider tips and firsthand experiences from animators, directors, and producers, revealing the best ways to manage the production process while creating a workplace that is both efficient and fun.
Call Number: NC1765 .L47 2010 -
Directing the Story: professional storytelling and storyboarding techniques for live action and animation
by
Francis Glebas, a top Disney storyboard artist, teaches artists a structural approach to clearly and dramatically presenting visual stories. They will learn classic visual storytelling techniques such as conveying meaning with images and directing the viewer's eye. Glebas also teaches how to spot potential problems before they cost time and money, and he offers creative solutions on how to solve them.
Call Number: NC1765 .G448 2009 -
Drawn to Life: 20 Golden Years of Disney Master Classes
by
Drawn to life is a two volume collection of the legendary lectures from long-time Disney animator Walt Stanchfield. For over twenty years, Walt helped breathe life into the new golden age of animation with these teachings at the Walt Disney Animation Studios and influenced such talented artists as Tim Burton, Brad Bird, Glen Keane, and John Lasseter.
Call Number: NC1765 .S67, 2 vols. -
Elemental Magic: The art of special effects animation
by
Animation guru Joseph Gilland breaks down the world of special effects animation with clear step-by-step diagrams and explanations on how to create the amazing and compelling images you see on the big screen. 'Elemental Magic' is jam-packed with rich, original illustrations from the author himself which help explain and illuminate the technique, philosophy, and approach behind classical hand drawn animated effects and how to apply these skills to your digital projects.
Call Number: NC1765 .G49 v.1 -
Force: dynamic life drawing for animators
by
Capture the force in your life drawing subjects with this practical guide to dynamic drawing techniques - packed with superb, powerfully drawn examples. Whether you are an animator, comic book artist, illustrator or fine arts' student you'll learn to use rhythm, shape, and line to bring out the life in any subject.
Call Number: NC765 .M377 2013 -
Make Your Own Movie Machine: build a paper zoetrope and learn to make animation cells
by
Discover the magic of animation with this complete guide to creating a paper zoetrope. A forerunner to the modern movie, the zoetrope offers the illusion of motion from a series of individual pictures. Suitable for ages 13 and up, the book contains simple, well-illustrated instructions for assembling a viewer as well as a guide to designing custom animation strips using photographs and drawings.
Call Number: PZ7.I9495 Mak 2014 -
Rotoscoping: techniques and tools for the aspiring artist
by
Master what it takes to make your rotoscoping and digital painting blend seamlessly into each shot.
Call Number: TR897.7 .B74 2011 -
Stop Motion: Craft Skills for Model Animation
by
Illustrated in full colour throughout you are shown step by step how to create successful model animation. Starting with some basic exercises, readers will learn about developing a story, making models, creating sets and props, the mechanics of movement, filming, post production and how to set about finding that elusive first job in a modern studio.
Call Number: TR897.5 .S533 2003 -
Story: substance, structure, style and the principles of screenwriting
by
In Story, McKee expands on the concepts he teaches in his ... seminars..., providing readers with the most comprehensive, integrated explanation of the craft of writing for the screen.
Call Number: PN1996 .M465 1997 -
Storyboard Design Course: principles, practice, and techniques : the ultimate guide for artists, directors, producers, and scriptwriters
by
This book is the ultimate storyboard manual, packed with fully-finished art and work-in progress examples from students and industry professionals. As well as being an essential guide for aspiring storyboard artists, this comprehensive book will enable anyone working in media production to get the most out of both the storyboard artist and the storyboard process.
Call Number: NC1002.S85 C933 2007
Recommended Animation DVDs
-
Adventures in Plymptoons: a documentary on the art and animation of Bill Plympton by A portrait of animator and independent filmmaker Bill Plympton, who after working as an illustrator in publications such as the New Yorker, Hustler, Penthouse and Playboy, turned to independent film. In 1988, he was nominated for an Academy Award for his short film, 'Your Face' and has since received critical acclaim for numerous short and feature films.
Call Number: ANIMATED Adventures [Plymptoons] DVD -
Akira
by
A powerful psychic force known only as Akira resurfaces in Neo-Tokyo in the 21st century. Tetsuo, a young, inexperienced motorcycle biker driven beyond the boundaries of sanity by the power of Akira, is forced to conjure up demons laying dormant within his subconscious.
Call Number: ANIMATED Akira DVD -
Alice
by
Using both live action and animation, Švankmajer creates a surreal version of Alice's adventures in Wonderland. Also included is Svankmajer's short film, Darkness light darkness in which a man literally constructs himself within the confines of a very small room-an allegory of Svankmajer's life in Eastern Europe.
Call Number: ANIMATED Alice DVD -
Alois Nebel by Traces the haunted memories and mysterious visions of a troubled train dispatcher through the shifting cultural and political landscape in the waning days of the Cold War.
Call Number: ANIMATED Alois Nebel DVD -
The Animation Show of Shows
by
Since 1998, The Animation Show of Shows has selected the best in animated short films from the world's most renowned animation festivals and presented them at the major animation studios to inspire their animators and directors.
Call Number: VT4690 cat. 25 DVD, 9 boxsets -
Boxtrolls by A community of quirky, mischievous creatures known as the Boxtrolls lovingly raise an orphaned human boy named Eggs in the amazing cavernous home they've built beneath the streets of Cheesebridge. But when town villain Archibald Snatcher comes up with a plot to get rid of the Boxtrolls, Eggs ventures above ground where he meets and teams up with a fabulously feisty girl named Winnie who helps him devise a daring plan to save his family.
Call Number: ANIMATED Boxtrolls DVD -
Brothers Quay collection: ten astonishing short films, 1984-1993
The Brothers Quay create puppet animation, where decaying dolls, primitive machinery, and other found objects interact in an expressionist world of ultra-reality.
Call Number: ANIMATED Brothers Quay DVD -
Chico and Rita
by
Cuba, 1948. Chico is a young piano player with big dreams. Rita is a beautiful singer with an extraordinary voice. Music and desire unite them as they chase their dreams and each other from Havana to New York, Paris, Hollywood and Las Vegas.
Call Number: ANIMATED Chico DVD -
Die Abenteuer des Prinzen Achmed (Adventures of Prince Achmed)
by
Premiered in Germany in 1926 and is based on the stories from "The Arabian nights", this movie has been hailed as the first full-length animated film. This is the story of a wicked sorcerer who tricks Prince Achmed into mounting a magical flying horse that sends the rider off on a flight to his death.
Call Number: ANIMATED Adventures [Prince] DVD -
Felix
by
During the 1920s Felix the Cat was very popular. Musicians wrote songs about him and newspapers "interviewed" him. He was small and round with agile little legs that made everyone laugh when he walked. He possessed a magical tail which could turn into a cane, a sword, a fishing rod or a question mark. He was a hero to adults and children alike
Call Number: ANIMATED Felix DVD -
Inside Out by Growing up can be a bumpy road, and it's no exception for Riley, who is uprooted from her Midwest life when her father starts a new job in San Francisco. Like all of us, Riley is guided by her emotions ; Joy, Fear, Anger, Disgust, and Sadness. The emotions live in Headquarters, the control center inside Riley's mind, where they help advise her through everyday life.
Call Number: ANIMATED Inside DVD -
The Secret of Kells
by
In a remote medieval outpost of Ireland, young Brendan embarks on a new life of adventure when a celebrated master illuminator arrives from foreign lands carrying a book brimming with secret wisdom and powers.
Call Number: ANIMATED Secret DVD -
Silly Symphonies/Walt Disney Treasures
This groundbreaking series of 31 uncensored cartoons, released between 1929 and 1939, provides an astonishing look inside the evolution of animation. Each boasting a unique cast of characters, these musical shorts served as Walt Disney's proving ground for emerging technology, new musical styles and experimental forms.
Call Number: ANIMATED Disney [Treasures] Silly DVD -
Spirited Away
by
When a young girl gets trapped in a strange new world of spirits, she must call upon the courage she never knew she had to free herself and rescue her parents.
Call Number: ANIMATED Spirited DVD -
Winsor McCay: The Master Edition
by
Winsor McCay was the first master of animation and one of its greatest and most influential artists. His films joyous, hilarious and beautiful continue to delight and astonish audiences today. Milestone s Winsor McCay: The Master Edition features brand-new digital transfers of every surviving film by this cinema pioneer with lovely piano scores by famed composer Gabriel Thibaudeau.
Call Number: ANIMATED Winsor McCay DVD -
Wizards by Avatar, the eccentric old sorcerer who rules the rainbow paradise of Montagar, must use magic to save the world from his brother, Blackwolf of Scortch, who has sent his minions forth to destroy and conquer.
Call Number: ANIMATED Wizards DVD
Research Question?
Ask at the Library Front Desk
Email library@massart.edu
Call 617-879-7150
Sculpture: Richard Artschwager,
Question Mark, 1994
Photo: Stefan Baudy, CC-BY License
Recommended Websites
Tutorial and Tools:
- Alex Small-Butera's YouTube Channel
- Animation Physics
- Animation Tips and Tricks
- RowVid YouTube Frame-by-Frame Tool
News and Reviews:
Interviews with Animators:
Awards:
Animation Magazines
Citation Help
Online
-
MLA Handbook
by
Call Number: REF LB2369 .G53 2021 -
The Chicago Manual of Style
by
Call Number: REF Z253 .C453 U558 2024
