Search Everything
Recommended Surveys & Introductions to Architecture
-
AIA Guide to Boston
by
This book is a superbly written history of Boston’s built environment, filled with insider details and engaging anecdotes about more than 600 buildings.
Call Number: NA735.B7 S69 2008 -
Building Meaning
by
Building Meaning: An Architecture Studio Primer on Design, Theory, and History is an essential introduction to the complex relationship between form making, historical analysis, and conceptual explorations. This book focuses on the relationship and interdependence between design, theory, and history for an innovative and holistic studio approach. Rather than suggest a singular narrative, this book draws from a diverse range of thinkers and designers to highlight the many interpretations of key architectural concepts, and provides readers with the context essential for developing their own approaches to any design problem. Building Meaning is organized to reflect the typical studio process, with stand-alone chapters that provide flexibility for use at any stage of design. The ideal book for beginning and intermediate architecture students, it gives specific methods to apply in the studio to make the most of the design process, as well as focused exercises to creatively explore each concept presented. Illustrated with more than 250 color images, it enables readers to engage and understand critically the genesis of architectural ideas and their role in our social and cultural experience.
Call Number: NA2750 .M43 2022 -
Buildings of Massachusetts
by
This latest volume in the Society of Architectural Historians’ Buildings of the United States series analyzes the architecture, landscape, and planning patterns of the capital of Massachusetts and forty surrounding cities and towns that fan out from Boston Harbor.
Call Number: NA735.B7 B85 2009 -
The Future of Architecture in 100 Buildings
by
A pavilion made from paper. A building that eats smog. An inflatable concert hall. A research lab that can walk through snow. We’re entering a new age in architecture—one where we expect our buildings to deliver far more than just shelter.
Call Number: NA687 .K87 2015 -
The Oxford Companion to Architecture
by
The Oxford Companion to Architecture is a new A-Z reference book on a popular and much-debated subject. It covers all aspects of architecture, from architects, building types, and movements and styles to materials, aspects of design, and definitions.
Call Number: NA31 .O94 2009 -
The Phaidon Atlas of 21st Century World Architecture
by
The Phaidon Atlas of 21st Century World Architecture is a comprehensive portrayal of the finest built architecture from around the world completed since the year 2000. Divided into six world regions, the Phaidon Atlas of 21st Century World Architectureprovides an important overview of global and local trends in architecture for a wide range of users. Over 1000 key buildings have been chosen through a rigorous selection process. Each building is fully illustrated and described by a short essay. In addition, a mass of useful information is provided. This includes details of architects' practices and extensive indexes. Comprehensive world data illustrates the economic and demographic contexts of architectural production.
Call Number: NA687 .P48 2008
Selected Handbooks & Technical Guides
-
Advanced Building Systems: A Technical Guide for Architects and Engineers
by
Daniel's Advanced Building Systems provides an up-to-date overview of all essential building installations and most recent technologies, complete with a wide range of detailed technical plans.
Call Number: TH845 .D36 2003 -
The Architect's Handbook of Professional Practice
by
Call Number: Ebook -
Architectural Graphic Standards
by
Call Number: Ebook -
The Architecture Student's Handbook of Professional Practice
by
In developing The Architecture Student's Handbook, an advisory group of noted professional practice educators and practitioners reviewed the content of The Architect's Handbook to distill the content for students.
Call Number: Ebook -
A Guide to Understanding the 2012 International Building Code
by
An easy-to-use, updated illustrated guide to the 2012 edition of the International Building Code
This unique reference to the 2012 International Building Code marries the graphic skills of bestselling author Frank Ching with the code expertise of Steven Winkel, FAIA.
Call Number: Ebook -
Interior Graphic Standards
by
The second edition of Interior Graphic Standards is completely revised with updated and expanded coverage of: Interior material energy use and environmental impact; ADA Accessibility Guidelines; Residential design and construction; Basic building construction types and their impact on interiors.
Call Number: TH2031 .M34 2011 -
Time-Saver Standards for Building Types
by
The only comprehensive reference to all building types, Time-Saver Standards for Building Types, Fourth Edition is loaded with all the essential design criteria and standards you need to prepare preliminary designs, execute programming requirements, and analyze the functions and uses of a building.
Call Number: NA2760 .D42 2001
Books on Architectural Materials
-
Material World 2: Innovative Materials for Architecture and Design
by
Featuring over 150 materials, Material World 2: Innovative Materials for Architecture and Design, sequel to the highly successful Material World, is an even more comprehensive catalogue of resources.
Call Number: TA403.6 .M368 2005 -
Glass: Materials for Inspirational Design
by
This book features more than 75 examples of glass, one of the oldest and most traditional of materials, in its many applications.
Call Number: TS171 L495 2002 -
Metals: Materials for Inspirational Design
by
Metals continues in the tradition of the 'Materials' series by bringing to people's attention a range of inspirational products and materials that challenge the boundaries of traditional application.
Call Number: TT205 .L44 2004 -
Wood: Materials for Inspirational Design
by
This book explores and illustrates the uses and types of wood and introduces new advanced materials and new methods of processing, making it a material for the future.
Call Number: TA419 .L34 2003
Books on Sustainability in Architecture
-
Adapting Buildings and Cities for Climate Change
by
This fully revised edition of Adapting Buildings and Cities for Climate Change provides unique insights into how we can protect our buildings, cities, infra-structures and lifestyles against risks associated with extreme weather and related social, economic and energy events.
Call Number: NA2541 .R63 2009 -
Architecture and Design Versus Consumerism: How Design Activism Confronts Growth
by
Although architecture and design have long been seen as engines for consumerism and growth, increasing numbers of designers are concerned about the problems resulting from growth. But designers face a paradox of their own; in scenarios of sustainable consumption, where people consume or build significantly less, what will be left for designers to do?
Call Number: NK1397 .T46 2012 -
Architecture in the Anthropocene: Encounters Among Design, Deep Time, Science and Philosophy
by
Architecture in the Anthropocene: Encounters Among Design, Deep Time, Science and Philosophy, edited by Etienne Turpin, brings together a provocative series of essays, conversations, and design proposals that attempt to intensify the potential of the multidisciplinary discourse developing in response to the Anthropocene thesis for contemporary architecture scholarship and practice.
Call Number: NA2541 .A735 2013 -
Big and Green: Toward Sustainable Architecture in the 21st Century
by
The book examines more than 40 of the most important recent sustainable skyscrapers-including Fox & Fowle's Reuters Buildings in New York, Norman Foster's Commerzbank in Frankfurt, and MVRDV's spectacular Dutch Pavilion from Expo 2000 in Hanover.
Call Number: NA2542.36 .B54 2002 -
Biomimicry in Architecture
by
Aimed at architects, urban designers and product designers, this text looks to the natural world to seek clues as to how we can achieve radical increases in resource efficiency. It contains inspiring case studies predicting future trends.
Call Number: NA2543.B56 P39 2011 -
Design with Climate: Bioclimatic Approach to Architectural Regionalism
by
First published in 1963, Design with Climate was a groundbreaking book in the field of environmentally responsible design and remains an important reference for practitioners, teachers, and students over fifty years later.
Call Number: NA2541 .O44 2015 -
Ecohouse: A Design Guide
by
Sue Roaf is famed for her approach to design and her awareness of energy efficiency. Here she reveals the concepts, structures and techniques that lie behind the realisation of her ideals.
Call Number: TH4860 .R62 2013 -
Hot to Cold: An Odyssey of Architectural Adaptation
by
This book coincides with the "Hot to Cold" exhibition at the National Building Museum and presents 60 case studies in harsh climate conditions in order to examine where and how we live on our planet.
Call Number: NA1223.B485 A4x 2015 -
Urgent Architecture: 40 Sustainable Housing Solutions for a Changing World
by
Bridgette Meinhold showcases 40 successful emergency and long-term housing projects - from repurposed shipping containers to sandbag homes. She surveys successful structures as well as highlighting promising projects that are still being developed. Every one is quickly deployable, affordable, and sustainable.
Call Number: HD7287 .M438 2013 -
Vitamin Green
by
Vitamin Green provides an up-to-the-minute look at the single most important topic in contemporary design: sustainability.
Call Number: NA2542.36 .V58 2012
Get Building Codes
-
MADCADBuilding codes online. (One MassArt user at a time. If you can't log in, refresh your browser or try again later.)
Recommended Websites about Architecture
General sources:
- American Institute of Architects
- ArchBoston (forum on Boston and New England architecture)
- Archdaily (News on contemporary architecture)
- Architecture for Humanity (Non-profit organization concerned with affordable and sustainable development worldwide.)
- ArchINFORM-International architectural database
- Archinect (Career resources for the architectural profession.)
- ArchitectureWeek.com (Architectural and building news.)
- Archnet (Developed at MIT's Design Lab in the School of Architecture and Planning for architects, urban designers,and landscape architects, with a focus on Muslim cultures and civilizations.)
- ArchNewsNow (Architectural news aggregator.)
- BuildingGreen.com (Information for the architectural profession about green materials and construction practices.)
- Emporis (international database of buildings and structures)
- Great Buildings Online
- Inhabitat.com (Resource on sustainable architecture and design.)
- Royal Institute of British Architects - Architecture Links
Historical sources:
- The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS) and the Historic American Engineering Record (HAER)
- MIT Museum, architecture and design collection
- National Building Museum, Washington, DC.
Urban planning and design:
NY Times RSS Feed: Architecture
Loading ...
Research Question?
Ask at the Library Front Desk
Email library@massart.edu
Call 617-879-7150
Sculpture: Richard Artschwager,
Question Mark, 1994
Photo: Stefan Baudy, CC-BY License
Architectural Journals at MassArt
Print journals are located on the 13th floor of the library.
For Grad Students
Citation Help
Online
-
MLA Handbook, 9th Edition
by
Call Number: REF LB2369 .G53 2021 -
The Chicago Manual of Style, 18th Edition
Call Number: REF Z253 .C453 U558 2024
