About this Guide
This guide aims to provide the briefest of introductions to a range of topics. The links at the top of each box offer a slightly more indepth look into the art of each culture. However, if your research requires more depth or more specificity, please note there are myriad other resources to investigate. Please see a librarian if you would like assistance with your research.
Aboriginal, Australian
UnDisclosed: 2nd National Indigenous Art Triennial by Call Number: N7401 .N37 2012ISBN: 9780642334213Publication Date: 2012
Find more books on aboriginal art in the library catalog.
Here's the article on aboriginal art from the online encyclopedia of art.
Crossing Cultures: the Owen and Wagner collection of contemporary aboriginal Australian art at the Hood Museum of Art by Call Number: N7401 .H66 2012ISBN: 9780944722442Publication Date: 2012
Ancestral Modern: Australian aboriginal art by Call Number: N7401 .A73 2012ISBN: 9780300180039Publication Date: 2012
The Oxford Companion to Aboriginal Art and Culture by Call Number: N7401 .O85 2000ISBN: 0195506499Publication Date: 2001
Out of Australia: prints and drawings from Sidney Nolan to Rover Thomas by Call Number: NE789.4 .C67 2011ISBN: 0714126721Publication Date: 2011
African
Earth Matters: land as material and metaphor in the arts of Africa by Call Number: N7391.65 .M55 2013ISBN: 9781580933704Publication Date: 2013
Click here for more books on African Art in the library catalog.
Or African Architecture.
Or African Sculpture.
Or African Photography.
Find more on African Art in the online encylopedia of art.
African Textiles Today by Call Number: NK8987 .S674 2012ISBN: 9781588343802Publication Date: 2012-10-09
Figures and Fictions: contemporary South African photography by Call Number: TR119.S6 F53 2011ISBN: 9783869302669Publication Date: 2011
Heroic Africans: legendary leaders, iconic sculptures by Call Number: NB1091.65 .L34 2011ISBN: 0300175841Publication Date: 2011
African Art Now: masterpieces from the Jean Pigozzi collection by Call Number: N7391.65 .A37 2005ISBN: 1858942896Publication Date: 2005
Shine: the visual economy of light in African diasporic aesthetic practice by Call Number: P94.5.M552 U685 2015ISBN: 0822357941Publication Date: 2015- Earth Matters: land as material and metaphor in the arts of Africa by Call Number: N7391.65 .M55 2013ISBN: 9781580933704Publication Date: 2013
African American
Common Wealth: art by African Americans in the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston by Call Number: N6538.N5 S65 2015ISBN: 0878468153Publication Date: 2015
Witness: art and civil rights in the sixties by Call Number: N8217.C36 C37 2014ISBN: 1580933904Publication Date: 2014
Find more books on African American Art.
Or on Jacob Lawrence, Romare Bearden, Kara Walker, Jean-Michel Basquiat, Faith Ringgold, Lorna Simpson, Carrie Mae Weems, Betye Saar, Glenn Ligon, Kerry James Marshall, Bill Traylor, Gordon Parks.
Find more on African American Art in the online encyclopedia of art.
When the Stars Begin to Fall: imagination and the American South by Call Number: N6512.5.O87 W47 2014ISBN: 0942949382Publication Date: 2014
Represent: 200 years of African American art in the Philadelphia Museum of Art by Call Number: N6538.N5 S53 2014ISBN: 0300208006Publication Date: 2014
Separate Cinema: the first 100 years of Black poster art by Call Number: PN1995.9.P5 K573 2014ISBN: 1909526061Publication Date: 2014
Radical Presence: Black performance in contemporary art by Call Number: NX456.5.P38 R33 2013ISBN: 1933619384Publication Date: 2013
Carrie Mae Weems: three decades of photography and video by Call Number: TR647 .W383 2012ISBN: 0300176899Publication Date: 2012
Caribbean
Caribbean: art at the crossroads of the world by Call Number: N6591 .C375 2012ISBN: 0300178549Publication Date: 2012
Imaging the Caribbean: culture and visual translation by Call Number: N6591 .M64 2009ISBN: 0230104495Publication Date: 2010
Find more books on Caribbean Art.
Infinite Island: contemporary Caribbean art by Call Number: N6591 .I54 2007ISBN: 0856676411Publication Date: 2007
Bodies and Bones: Feminist Rehearsal and Imagining Caribbean Belonging by Call Number: PN849.C3 S55 2014ISBN: 0813935962Publication Date: 2014
Fiery Pool: the Maya and the mythic sea by Call Number: F1435.3.A7 F56 2010ISBN: 0300161379Publication Date: 2010
Chinese
Art As History: calligraphy and painting as one by Call Number: N7340 .F64 2014ISBN: 0691162492Publication Date: 2014
Art, Chinese -- 21st century
Art, Chinese -- 20th century
Art, Chinese -- Ming-Qing dynasties, 1368-1912
Art, Chinese -- Song-Yuan dynasties, 960-1368
Art, Chinese -- Tang-Five dynasties, 618-960
Art, Chinese -- Three Kingdoms-Sui dynasty, 220-618
Art, Chinese -- Qin-Han dynasties, 221 BC - 220 AD
Art, Chinese -- to 221 BC
Find more on Chinese Art in the online encyclopedia of art.
Ming: 50 years that changed China by Call Number: DS753.2 .M523 2014ISBN: 0295994509Publication Date: 2014
Ink Art: past as present in contemporary China by Call Number: N7345 .I55 2013ISBN: 0300197039Publication Date: 2013
Beauty Revealed: Images of Women in Qing Dynasty Chinese Painting by Call Number: ND1460.W65 B43 2013ISBN: 0971939713Publication Date: 2013
Art of change : new directions from China by Call Number: N7345.6 .A786 2012ISBN: 1853323039Publication Date: 2013
Modern Chinese Artists: a biographical dictionary by Call Number: [X] N7348 .S85 2006ISBN: 0520244494Publication Date: 2006
Nine Lives: the birth of avant-garde art in new China by Call Number: ND1048 .S65 2006ISBN: 3039390368Publication Date: 2005
Contemporary Chinese Art: primary documents by Call Number: N7345 .C666 2010ISBN: 0822349434Publication Date: 2010
Islamic
Ferozkoh: Tradition and Continuity in Afghan Art by Call Number: N7292 .F47 2013ISBN: 9992195983Publication Date: 2013
In Harmony: the Norma Jean Calderwood collection of Islamic art by Call Number: N6263.C36 A745 2013ISBN: 0300176414Publication Date: 2013
Islamic Art
Islamic Art--South, Southeast, and Central Asia
Islamic Art--Egypt
Islamic Art--India
Islamic Art--Iran
Find more on Islamic Art in the online art encyclopedia.
Art and Material Culture of Iranian Shi'Ism by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 0857720651Publication Date: 2011
Beauty and Belief: crossing bridges with the arts of Islamic culture by Call Number: N6263.P76 B755 2012ISBN: 0842528113Publication Date: 2012
Byzantium and Islam: age of transition, 7th-9th century by Call Number: N6250 .B965 2012ISBN: 0300179502Publication Date: 2012
Masterpieces from the Department of Islamic Art in the Metropolitan Museum of Art by Call Number: N6263.N4 M47 2011ISBN: 030017585XPublication Date: 2011
Islamic Images and Ideas: essays on sacred symbolism by Call Number: e-bookISBN: 1476612889Publication Date: 2013
Research Question?
Ask at the Library Front Desk
Email library@massart.edu
Call 617-879-7150
Sculpture: Richard Artschwager,
Question Mark, 1994
Photo: Stefan Baudy, CC-BY License
Japanese
Seduction: Japan's floating world by Call Number: NX584.T65 A45 2015ISBN: 093911769XPublication Date: 2015
More on Japanese Art.
Art, Japanese--20th century.
Art, Japanese--21st century.
Japanese architecture.
Japanese ceramics and pottery.
Japanese design.
Japanese painting.
Japanese photography.
Japanese prints.
Find more on Japanese Art in the only encylcopedia of art.
Japonisme and the Rise of the Modern Art Movement by Call Number: N7354.5 .I78 2013ISBN: 0500239134Publication Date: 2013
Shunga: sex and pleasure in Japanese art by Call Number: NE1321.85.S58 S556 2013ISBN: 9004263268Publication Date: 2013
Gutai: splendid playground by Call Number: N7355.5.G87 T53 2013ISBN: 0892074892Publication Date: 2013
Fired Earth, Woven Bamboo: contemporary Japanese ceramics and bamboo art from the Stanley and Mary Ann Snider collection by Call Number: NK4167.7 .T64 2013ISBN: 0878468056Publication Date: 2013
Latin American
New Territories: laboratories for design, craft and art in Latin America by Call Number: N6502.5 .N49 2014ISBN: 8415832850Publication Date: 2014
Beyond the Supersquare: art and architecture in Latin America after modernism by Call Number: NA702.5 .B49 2014ISBN: 0823260798Publication Date: 2014
Art, Latin American
South American art
Central American art
Brazilian art
Cuban art
Mexican art
Peruvian art
Find more information on Pre-Columbian South American art.
Concrete Invention: Colección Patricia Phelps de Cisneros : reflections on geometric abstraction from Latin America and its legacy by Call Number: N6502.57.A37 I6813 2013ISBN: 8415427972Publication Date: 2013
Order, Chaos, and the Space Between by Call Number: N6502.5 .O73 2013ISBN: 0910407061Publication Date: 2013
The Itinerant Languages of Photography by Call Number: TR650 .C12 2013ISBN: 0300174365Publication Date: 2013
Mexico's Revolutionary Avant-Gardes by Call Number: N6555.5.E76 F59 2013ISBN: 0300184484Publication Date: 2013
Native American
Indigenous Beauty:masterworks of American Indian art from the Diker collection by Call Number: E98.A7 P34 2015ISBN: 9780847845231Publication Date: 2015
The Plains Indians: artists of earth and sky by Call Number: E78.G73 T67 2014ISBN: 0847844587Publication Date: 2014
Native American art
Indigenous art of North America
Indigenous art of Canda
Native American pottery
Find more information on Native North American art from the online encyclopedia of art.
Drawing with Great Needles: ancient tattoo traditions of North America by Call Number: GT2346.N6 D73 2013ISBN: 0292749120Publication Date: 2013
Oceanic
Art in Oceania: a new history by Call Number: N7410 .A735 2012ISBN: 030019028XPublication Date: 2013
Find more books on the art from Oceania.
Oceania: art of the Pacific Islands in the Metropolitan Museum of Art by Call Number: N7410 .K54 2007ISBN: 0300120303Publication Date: 2007
Queer Art
A Little Gay History: desire and diversity across the world by Call Number: HQ76.25 .P37 2013ISBN: 023116663XPublication Date: 2013
Find more books on LGBTQ art.
Transgender and the arts.
Find more on queer art in the online encyclopedia of art.
Southeast Asian
Lost Kingdoms: Hindu-Buddhist sculpture of early Southeast Asia by Call Number: NB1912.H55 G89 2014ISBN: 030020437XPublication Date: 2014
Negotiating home, history and nation : two decades of contemporary art in Southeast Asia, 1991-2011 by Call Number: N7311 .N44 2011ISBN: 9789810881047Publication Date: 2011
Southeast Asian Art.
Indonesian Art.
Thai Art.
Vietnamese Art.
Architecture of Southeast Asia.
Find more on Southeast Asian art in the online encyclopedia of art.
Crescent Moon: Islamic art & civilisation in Southeast Asia by Call Number: N7311 .B46 2005ISBN: 0730830306Publication Date: 2006
Dictionary of South and Southeast Asian Art by Call Number: [X] N7300 .C475 2000ISBN: 9747100975Publication Date: 2001
Women in Art
Women Artists: images of nature by Call Number: N8354 .H37 2014ISBN: 0565093444Publication Date: 2014
More on women and art.
Find more information on women and art history from the online encyclopedia of art and women in art in the 21st century.
Renegotiating the Body: feminist art in 1970s London by Call Number: N72.F45 B388 2013ISBN: 1848859619Publication Date: 2013
Les Papesses: Louise Bourgeois, Kiki Smith, Jana Sterbak, Berlinde De Bruyckere, Camille ClaudelCall Number: N8354 .P34 2013ISBN: 2330019289Publication Date: 2013
After the Revolution: women who transformed contemporary art by Call Number: N8354 .A38 2013ISBN: 3791347551Publication Date: 2013
Women, Art, and Power and Other Essays by Call Number: N8354 .N62 1988ISBN: 0064358526Publication Date: 1988
Expanding Discourse: feminism and art history by Call Number: N72.F45 E96 1992ISBN: 0064302075Publication Date: 1992
