Search Everything
Graphic Design Online Resources
-
-
-
-
-
Design Elements, Typography Fundamentals
by
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781610584005Publication Date: 2012 -
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
"Transitional" Typefaces: The History of a Typefounding ClassificationDesign Issues; Autumn 2015, Vol. 31 Issue 4, p30-43
-
Computational Approach to Graphic Design. International Journal of Visual DesignInternational Journal of Visual Design; Mar 2020, Vol. 14 Issue 1, p1-9
-
Design a Voice for the Vote! Collective Design with Social Impact.International Journal of Design Education; Dec2018, Vol. 12 Issue 4, p23-39
-
Feel the Fear: Learning Graphic Design in Affective Places and Online SpacesInternational Journal of Art & Design Education; Feb 2017, Vol. 36 Issue 1, p39-49
-
Incidental Graphics: To Design in and Through DocumentsC: International Contemporary Art; Spring 2019, Issue 141, p34-38
-
Malleable Thought: The Role of Craft Thinking in Practice-Led Graphic DesignInternational Journal of Art & Design Education; June 2015, Vol. 34 Issue 2, p180-191
-
Situating Graphic AnthropologyVisual Anthropology, Jan/Feb 2015, Vol. 28 Issue 1, p88-108
-
Warm Up! An Experimental Project on Design for Social Innovation and Urban RegenerationInternational Journal of Design in Society; Jun 2020, Vol. 14 Issue 2, p1-11
Recommended Surveys & Introductions to Graphic Design
-
The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
by
Featuring nearly 600 extensively illustrated entries, The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising provides detailed historic surveys of the world's leading agencies and major advertisers, as well as brand and market histories; it also profiles the influential men and women in advertising, overviews advertising in the major countries of the world, covers important issues affecting the field, and discusses the key aspects of methodology, practice, strategy, and theory.
Call Number: HF5803 .A38 2003 -
The Designer's Lexicon
by
The digital revolution has brought with it a dizzying multiplication of new styles and techniques in the field of graphic design not to mention a whole new professional jargon. The Designer's Lexicon is the only cross-disciplinary technical dictionary that captures this rich and often confusing profusion of design-speak. It is packed with over 4000 terms that cover the broad spectrum of practices a modern designer must be familiar with.
Call Number: REF - NC1000 .C28 2000 -
Design Literacy
by
Each essay offers a taste of the aesthetic, political, historical, and personal issues that have engaged designers from the late nineteenth century to the present—from the ubiquitous (the swastika, antiwar posters) to the whimsical (MAD magazine parodies).
Call Number: NC998.4 .H45 2014 -
Graphic Design
by
This exciting new history of graphic design explores its evolution from the late 19th century to the present day. Organized chronologically, the book illuminates the dynamic relationship between design and manufacturing as well as the roles of technology, social change, and commercial forces on the course of design history. The layout of each chapter reflects the unique style of the period it describes, and some 450 illustrations throughout the volume provide a visual record of more than one hundred years of creative achievement in the field.
Call Number: NC998 .E85 2007 -
The History of Graphic Design. 2 vols.
by
Call Number: NC998.4 .H555 -
The Phaidon Archive of Graphic Design
by
Five hundred graphic designs created since the advent of mechanical reproduction, are showcased in this archive - from the Gutenberg Bible and Nuremberg Chronicles of the fifteenth century, to the cutting edge magazines, posters and ephemera of today.
Call Number: REF - NC997 .P53 2012 -
The Thames and Hudson Encyclopaedia of Graphic Design and Designers
by
From pre-industrial printing presses and medieval typography to computer graphics and avant-garde stylistic developments, a wealth of entries elucidate technical terms and detail movements, media, advertising, corporate identity, posters, packaging, and magazine and book design, placing graphic design in the wider context of the history of fine art and illustration.
Call Number: NC997 .L54 1998
Graphic Design - Technical Guides
-
The Production Manual
by
Want a job in graphic design? In the real world? Here's the book that teaches everything you really need to know. The Production Manual is filled with practical how-it-works, how-to-get-it-done information, and it is perfect for anyone who has an educational background in graphic design but not a lot of work experience.
Call Number: Z246 P76 2008 -
Forms, Folds, and Sizes
by
Forms, Folds & Sizes is the book that is always next to a designer's computer. Completely practical with only the most needed information, this book will provide designers with all the little details that can make or break a design such as how much space to leave in the gutter when designing barrel folds, how to layout a template for a box and the ratios of each part, metric conversion charts, standard envelope sizes in the USA, Europe, Canada and Asia, etc.
Call Number: REF - Z244.3 .E83 2004 -
Design Evolution
by
While there are many books showcasing graphic design work, few present in-depth projects, exploring concept, designers' strategy, visual problem-solving, and specifics, illustrating the concrete use of design principles to achieve intended communication goals. As a result, readers are often left with only a surface understanding of how a project might have evolved or how the visual aspects of its design are brought together to convey its intended message.
Call Number: Z246 .S227 2008 -
Graphic Design, Referenced
by
Visual and informational guide to the most commonly referenced terms, historical moments, landmark projects, and influential practitioners in the field of graphic design.
Call Number: NC997 .G565 2009
Books on Typography
-
Typographic Design
by
Typography is the comprehensive design of type, encompassing selection, placement, manipulation, and communication. An integral element of the graphic designer's arsenal, typography skills translate across industry boundaries into print, video, film, television, packaging, advertising, digital design, and more.
Call Number: Z253 .C32 2015 -
Typography Workbook
by
The book is part of Rockport's popular Workbook series of practical and inspirational workbooks that cover all the fundamental areas of the graphic design business. This book presents an abundance of information on type - the cornerstone of graphic design - succinctly and to the point, so that designers can get the information they need quickly and easily.
Call Number: Z250 .S165 2004 -
Stencil Type
by
As one of the oldest ways of printing type, stencils are a ubiquitous means of mass communication, appearing on everything from construction hoardings to shipping containers, and often employed by populist, rebellious and art movements. With a broad range of historical examples, Stencil Type presents an intriguing and invaluable collection of this essential typographic art.
Call Number: Z246 .H45 2015 -
Type Compass
by
Today's graphic output makes use of a colossal number of fonts, compared to 20 years ago. So where is the evolution of type design headed? Type Compass answers these questions, showcasing designers from around the world, charting new routes in the field and providing a clear sign of where type might be headed in the future.
Call Number: Z250 .T9764 2012
Graphic Design for a Cause
-
The Graphic Imperative
by
The Graphic Imperative : International Posters for Peace, Social Justice & The Environment 1965-2005. A Catalog published by the Massachusetts College of Art and Philadelphia University for the following three shows: Sandra & David Bakalar Gallery, Massachusetts College of Art, Boston, MA, September 14-November 11, 2005; The Design Center at Philadelphia University, Philadelphia, PA, April 3-May 23, 2006; AIGA National Design Center, New York, NY, June 15-August 18, 2006.
Call Number: NC1849.P42 G73 2005 -
Green Graphic Design
by
Green Graphic Design reframes the way designers can think about the work they create, while remaining focused on cost constraints and corporate identity. Simple, eco-innovative changes are demonstrated in all phases of the design process
Call Number: NC997 .D64 2008 -
Designing for Social Change
by
Some call it design for the greater good. Others call it social design. Whatever you call it, it's clear that an altruistic impulse is on the rise in the design community. The latest addition to our Design Briefs series, Designing for Social Change, is a compact, hands-on primer for graphic designers who want to use their unique problem-solving skills to help others.
Call Number: NC997 .S455 2012 -
Clean New World
by
Lacking the power to influence the content of their commercial work, many designers work simultaneously on other, more fulfilling projects. Lavin is especially interested in the graphic designer's role in shaping cultural norms. Throughout the book, Lavin asks how designers can expand the pleasure, democracy, and vitality of communication.
Call Number: NC997 .L345 2001 -
British Posters
by
Drawing on the V & A's wide-ranging poster collection, this book traces the evolution of the poster in the hands of graphic designers and fine artists, advertising agencies, and countercultural groups in Britain since 1945.
Call Number: NC1807.G7 F588 2012 -
Graphic Agitation
by
Graphic Agitation explores graphic protest in the digital age, in particular over the years since the Gulf War. The book deals with a range of protest imagery from hi-tech and low-tech to no-tech and is comprehensively illustrated with images ranging from lollipop wrappers to websites.
Call Number: NC997 .M37 2004 -
Green Patriot Posters
by
This book brings together the strongest contemporary graphic design currently promoting sustainability and the fight against climate change.
Call Number: NC1849.S87 G74 2010 -
Graphic Intervention: 25 Years of International AIDS Awareness Posters 1985-2010
by
153 poster images from 44 countries on the subject of AIDS Awareness.
Call Number: NC1849.M43 G73 2010 -
Developing Citizen Designers
by
Call Number: NK1505 .D48 2016
Recommended Websites about Graphic Design
TED talk: Marian Bantjes: Intricate beauty by design
In graphic design, Marian Bantjes says, throwing your individuality into a project is heresy. She explains how she built her career doing just that, bringing her signature delicate illustrations to storefronts, valentines and even genetic diagrams.
Research Question?
Ask at the Library Front Desk
Email library@massart.edu
Call 617-879-7150
Sculpture: Richard Artschwager,
Question Mark, 1994
Photo: Stefan Baudy, CC-BY License
Journals at MassArt
Print journals are located on the 13th floor of the library.
Influential graphic designers
For Grad Students
Dissertations and Theses Full-Text (Access at Simmons)
Citation Help
Online
-
MLA Handbook, 9th Edition
by
Call Number: REF LB2369 .G53 2021 -
The Chicago Manual of Style, 18th Edition
Call Number: REF Z253 .C453 U558 2024
