MassArt History: 1870-1970

Framing the past : essays on art education / edited by Donald Soucy and Mary Ann Stankiewicz. Reston, Va. : National Art Education Association, c1990.
N90 .F73 1990

Bolin, Paul. "Overlooked and obscured through history: the legislative bill proposed to amend the Massachusetts Drawing Act of 1870." Studies in art education. 1995: 55 -64.
Available in MassArt Print Journal collection.

Bolin, Paul. "Bordering the Familiar: Drawing Education Legislation in the Northeastern United States, 1871-1876." Studies in art education. 2004: 101.
Available via online with login.

Drawn to art : a nineteenth-century American dream / Diana Korzenik ; with a foreword by Rudolf Arnheim. Hanover, NH : University Press of New England, 1985.
N7477 .K63 1985

A 19th century government drawing master : The Walter Smith Reader. Reston, VA : National Art Education Association, 2000.
N89.2.S66 C3 2000

American text books of art education : model and object drawing / by Walter Smith. Boston : L. Prang & Company. University Press, Cambridg, 1875.
[Archive] NC620 .S6 1875d

Art education here / [Pamela M. Banks, editor]. Boston : Massachusetts College of Art, 1987.
N105 .A75 1987

Art education, scholastic and industrial / by Walter Smith. Boston : J.R. Osgood and Company, 1872.
[Archives] N85 .S66 1872

A brief history of the Massachusetts Normal Art School, 1873 to 1923-'24 / by May Smith Dean ; [edited by Royal Bailey Farnum.] [Boston, Mass.] : Massachusetts Normal Art School Alumni Association, 1923-24.
[Archive] N330.B68 D4 1924

Framing the past : essays on art education / edited by Donald Soucy and Mary Ann Stankiewicz. Reston, Va. : National Art Education Association, c1990.
N90 .F73 1990

Remembering Massachusetts State Normal Schools : pioneers in teacher education / Massachusetts State University Council of Presidents. Westfield, Mass. : Institute for Massachusetts Studies, (Westfield State University), 2014.
LD3234.M24 A3 2014

Some events in the life of Walter Smith / Nora C. C. Sheath. [Chesham, Eng.] : Chesham Church Printing, 1982.
LD3234.S66 S5 1982

Soucy, Donald. "Present Views on The Past: Bases for the Understanding of Art Education Historiography." Canadian Review of Art Education: Research & Issues, 2013: Vol. 40 Issue 1, p20-27.
Available online with login.

Smith, Walter. Lectures upon drawing in the three grades of primary, grammar, and high schools of the city of Boston: addressed to the teachers of the several grades. 
Available online.

Stankiewicz, Mary Ann. The World that Created MassArt and the Worlds that MassArt Created. presentation at MassArt on November 6th, 2013.
Available online.

Ask at the Library Front Desk 
Email library@massart.edu
Call 617-879-7150

Sculpture: Richard Artschwager,
Question Mark, 1994 
Photo: Stefan Baudy, CC-BY License

Handbook of research and policy in art education / edited by Elliot W. Eisner, Michael D. Day. Mahwah, N.J.: National Art Education Association : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2004.

[X] N103 .H36 2004

The history of American art education : learning about art in American schools / Peter Smith. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1996.
N105 .S6 1996

Practical education. Paper read at the Essex county teachers' association meeting, held at Salem, April 12, 1878, by Walter Smith. Boston : A. J. Wright, 1878.
[Archiv] LB41 .S66 1878

Remembering Massachusetts State Normal Schools : pioneers in teacher education / Massachusetts State University Council of Presidents. Westfield, Mass. : Institute for Massachusetts Studies, (Westfield State University), 2014.
LD3234.M24 A3 2014

Efland, Arthur D. "Teaching and learning the arts." Arts Education Policy Review.  1993: 26+.
Available online with login.

Stankiewicz, Mary Ann. "'Don't Play A Lone Hand': A Century Of Leadership In American Art Education, 1840-1940." Visual Inquiry: Learning & Teaching Art. 2014: 235-247.
Available online with login.

Stankiewicz, Mary Ann. "Perennial Promises And Pitfalls In Arts Education Reform." Arts Education Policy Review. 1997: 8-14.
Available online with login.

Mary Ann Stankiewicz's Art Education Timeline
http://www.personal.psu.edu/mas53/timln870.html

American text books of art education : model and object drawing / by Walter Smith. Boston : L. Prang & Company. University Press, Cambridg, 1875.
[Archive] NC620 .S6 1875d

The Antefix papers : papers on art educational subjects, read at the weekly meetings of the Massachusetts Art Teachers' Association, by members and others connected with the Massachusetts Normal Art School. Boston, Printed for private circulation, 1875.
N330.B2 M3

Art education, scholastic and industrial / by Walter Smith. Boston : J.R. Osgood and Company, 1872.
[Archives] N85 .S66 1872

Massachusetts College of Art 5 year plan / plan editor, Dorothy Simpson-Krause. [Boston] : Massachusetts College of Art, [1981?]
[Archives] LD3234.M152 P43 1981

Model drawing : prepared for the use of the students of the Massachusetts Normal Art School, Boston, Mass. / by Anson K. Cross. Boston : s.n., 1890.
[Archives] NC620 .C86 1890

Practical education. Paper read at the Essex county teachers' association meeting, held at Salem, April 12, 1878, by Walter Smith. Boston : A. J. Wright, 1878.
[Archiv] LB41 .S66 1878

A sketch of the history of public art instruction in Massachusetts [by] Henry Turner Bailey. Boston, Wright & Potter Printing Company [1900]
[SpCol] LB1591 .B15 1900

Didn't find it in FLO? Search for items in WorldCat. Many can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

Know a book or DVD that MassArt should own? Make a Purchase Request.