Woodworking: Books & Other Resources

Woodworking Basics by Peter Korn Based on a two-week course in woodworking fundamentals offered at the Center for Furniture Craftsmanship in Camden, Maine, this book takes a traditional approach to teaching, with the idea that learning basic skills is essential to craftsmanship. In the process, the book covers all the bases--from working with hand tools to cutting dovetails. Includes two complete projects: a bench and a small cabinet.

The Complete Manual of Woodworking by Albert Jackson; David Day; Simon Jennings With more than 1,800 drawings, diagrams and photos, this authoritative guide encompasses the whole art and craft of woodworking. Designed to instruct and inspire every woodworker from the beginner to the most exacting expert, it has become a classic.

Tage Frid Teaches Woodworking, 3 vols. by Tage Frid; Emma Frid; Peter A. Frid; Ann F. Randall The techniques illustrated in these books are demonstrated step by step, with clarity and organization that allows readers to understand and carry out virtually any woodworking project.

Understanding Wood: A Craftsman's Guide to Wood Technology by R. Bruce Hoadley A frequent writer on home improvement topics, Peters offers a colorful book geared toward hobbyist woodworkers. He covers the process of making lumber from start to finish, including how trees grow, their structure, common ways of milling and drying lumber, grading, and possible defects found in wood.

The Complete Illustrated Guide to Furniture and Cabinet Construction by Andy Rae The Complete Illustrated Guide to Furniture & Cabinet Construction is the ultimate reference work -- a graphic, step-by-step presentation of basic furniture-construction techniques. Expert woodworker Andy Rae brings organization, enthusiasm, and more than 20 years' experience to this essential book. Readers will acquire a working knowledge of woodworking materials, a higher level of control over their work and tools, and an understanding of basic design principles.

The Complete Illustrated Guide to Joinery by Gary Rogowski There's no more thorough and readable guide to joinery than this new book from expert woodworker Gary Rogowski. The Complete Illustrated Guide to Joinery uses full-color, step-by-step photo essays to show you how to make every practical woodworking joint.

Turning by Richard Raffan This volume covers handplanes, a key handtool in a small shop. Basically simple tools, planes are enormously versatile and useful when used with skill. A key to successful plane operation is correct tuning and sharpening, and there are articles on getting a plane sharp and ready for work. Also included are articles on the wide variety of handplane relations.

Taunton's Complete Illustrated Guide to Jigs and Fixtures by Sandor Nagyszalanczy Jigs, simply put, are devices, sometimes shop-made but now often available commercially to enable woodworkers to do something more than once. For example, some jigs are fences that ensure straight cuts or templates capable of guiding tools to create a certain shape time after time.

The Woodbook by Romeyn B. Hough (Editor); Klaus Ulrich Leistikow; Romeyn B. Hough. Culled and assembled by Romeyn Beck Hough between 1888 and 1913 in what still remains a stunning and unparalleled achievement, American Woods—originally published in 14 volumes, with actual specimens mounted on card stock—is a work of breathtaking beauty that has set the standard for the study of trees and wood.

Audacious: The Fine Art of Wood by Dean Lahikainen; Verlyn Klinkenborg (Contribution by); Catrina Hill (Contribution by); Dan L. Monroe (Contribution by); Lynda Roscoe Hartigan (Contribution by) This beautifully illustrated volume presents 108 stunning, technically unimaginable works of art in wood from the Montalto Bohlen Collection.

Turning Wood into Art by Suzanne Ramljak; Michael W. Monroe; Mint Museum of Craft and Design Staff; Mark Leach (Foreword by) Comprising more than 125 extraordinary works by 43 craft artists, the Jane and Arthur Mason Collection is one of the world's premier collections of lathe-turned wooden objects. This sumptuously illustrated book features illuminating essays by two of the artists as well as by Arthur Mason himself. 141 illustrations, 130 in full color.

Wood Turning in North America since 1930 by Wood Turning Center Staff (Contribution by); Yale University, Art Gallery Staff (Contribution by) A history of lathe-turned objects in the 20th century, this title examines wood turning in both pictures and text, detailing its evolution from a way of easily producing multiples of utiliatarian objects, to a true art form reflecting a wide range of aesthetic and emotional expressions

The Fine Art of Wood by Bonita Fike; Detroit Institute of Arts Staff (Compiled by); Mike Mendelson With more than 130 works made during the past decade, The Fine Art of Wood celebrates a pivotal artistic breakthrough: artists working in wood now claim the same freedom of expression long enjoyed by ceramists and glass artists. Featuring strikingly handsome shapes, unusual finishes, and woods from every corner of the world, these innovative new pieces have been beautifully photographed and reproduced by the Detroit Institute of Arts in conjunction with an upcoming exhibition.

Soul of a Tree: A Woodworker's Reflections by George Nakashima; George Wald (Introduction by) In this lavishly illustrated volume, George Nakashima allows us an intimate look at his artistry, his philosophy, his life. It is the portrait of an artisan who strive to find the idea use for each plank in order to "create an object of utility to man and, if nature smiles, an object of lasting beauty.

MLA Handbook, 9th Edition by The Modern Language Association of America

The Chicago Manual of Style, 18th Edition