Virtual Museums
These are online platforms that curate digital exhibits and experiences, often making art and culture accessible to a global audience. These virtual museums provide rich online experiences, allowing people to explore art, history, and culture from different parts of the world without having to leave their homes.
The Louvre (France)
[Louvre Virtual Tours](https://www.louvre.fr/en/online-tours)
The Louvre offers virtual tours of some of its most famous exhibits, including the Egyptian Antiquities, the Galerie d’Apollon, and more. This allows visitors to explore one of the world’s most renowned museums from anywhere.
The British Museum (United Kingdom)
[British Museum Online Tours](https://www.britishmuseum.org/collection/galleries)
The British Museum provides an interactive experience with its collections, offering virtual tours and high-resolution images of thousands of artifacts.
The Vatican Museums (Vatican City)
[Vatican Museums Online]
(http://www.museivaticani.va/content/museivaticani/en/collezioni/musei/tour-virtualielenco.html)
The Vatican Museums' website includes virtual tours of the Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms, and other iconic spaces within the museum complex.
The Rijksmuseum (Netherlands)
[Rijksmuseum Rijksstudio](https://www.rijksmuseum.nl/en/rijksstudio)
The Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam allows visitors to explore its collections digitally, offering a vast array of high-quality images and detailed information on its pieces.
The Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History (USA)
[Smithsonian Virtual Tours](https://naturalhistory.si.edu/visit/virtual-tour)
The Smithsonian provides an extensive virtual tour of its Natural History Museum, allowing users to navigate through its exhibits and view detailed images of its collections.
The Uffizi Gallery (Italy)
[Uffizi Virtual Tour](https://www.uffizi.it/en/online-collections)
The Uffizi Gallery in Florence offers virtual access to some of its most famous works, including masterpieces by Botticelli, Michelangelo, and Leonardo da Vinci.
The Guggenheim Museum (USA)
[Guggenheim Virtual Tour]
(https://www.guggenheim.org/plan-your-visit/guggenheim-from-home)
The Guggenheim Museum in New York provides virtual tours and access to its art collections online, offering a way to experience its unique spiral architecture and artworks.
The Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa (New Zealand)
[Te Papa Collections Online]
(https://www.tepapa.govt.nz/discover-collections/collections-online)
Te Papa offers a digital experience of its collections, focusing on New Zealand's cultural heritage, natural environment, and contemporary art.
The Google Arts & Culture Project (International)
[Google Arts & Culture](https://artsandculture.google.com/)
This platform aggregates virtual tours and high-resolution images from hundreds of museums around the world, including the MoMA, the Tate Modern, and the Van Gogh Museum.
The Hermitage Museum (Russia)
[Hermitage Virtual Tour]
(https://www.hermitagemuseum.org/wps/portal/hermitage/virtual_tours)
The Hermitage in St. Petersburg offers an immersive 360-degree virtual tour of its opulent halls and extensive art collections, including works by Rembrandt, Da Vinci, and more.
Community Museums
Small, local museums that focus on the history, culture, and art of a specific community or neighborhood, often run by local residents. These community museums play a vital role in preserving and celebrating local histories, cultures, and identities, often involving community members in the curation and storytelling processes.
District Six Museum (South Africa)
[District Six Museum](https://www.districtsix.co.za/)
Cape Town, South Africa
The District Six Museum commemorates the vibrant community that was forcibly removed during apartheid. The museum preserves the history, culture, and stories of the people who lived in District Six.
Tenement Museum (USA)
[Tenement Museum](https://www.tenement.org/)
New York City, USA
Located in the Lower East Side of Manhattan, the Tenement Museum preserves and interprets the stories of immigrant families who lived in the tenement buildings. It offers guided tours that highlight the experiences of various immigrant groups in New York City.
Muntpunt Community Museum (Belgium)
[Muntpunt](https://www.muntpunt.be/)
Brussels, Belgium
Muntpunt is a community-focused cultural hub and museum in Brussels that connects people through cultural activities, exhibitions, and local heritage projects, fostering a sense of community in the city.
Red Location Museum (South Africa)
[Red Location Museum](https://www.nelsonmandelabay.gov.za/attractions/attraction/11)
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
The Red Location Museum is dedicated to the struggle against apartheid. It is located in one of the oldest townships in South Africa and serves as a community space for reflection, education, and cultural expression.
Museum of Vancouver (Canada)
[Museum of Vancouver](https://museumofvancouver.ca/)
Vancouver, Canada
The Museum of Vancouver focuses on the city's history and the experiences of its diverse communities. It features exhibits on the history, culture, and development of Vancouver, with a strong emphasis on local stories.
Museum of London Docklands (UK)
[Museum of London Docklands]
(https://www.museumoflondon.org.uk/museum-london-docklands)
London, UK
This museum is dedicated to the history of the London Docklands and its surrounding communities. It explores the impact of trade, migration, and industry on the development of this area, highlighting the lives of local residents.
Ateneo de Manila University – Arete (Philippines)
[Arete](https://arete.ateneo.edu/)
Quezon City, Philippines
Arete is the creativity and innovation hub of Ateneo de Manila University. It houses exhibits and programs that reflect the history, culture, and contemporary issues of Filipino communities, with a focus on engaging the local population.
The Little Museum of Dublin (Ireland)
[The Little Museum of Dublin](https://www.littlemuseum.ie/)
Dublin, Ireland
This museum tells the story of Dublin through the eyes of its residents, focusing on the 20th century. It’s a community-driven museum that collects and exhibits items donated by Dubliners.
Espacio Memoria y Derechos Humanos (Argentina)
[Espacio Memoria](https://www.espaciomemoria.ar/)
Buenos Aires, Argentina
This site and museum are dedicated to preserving the memory of the victims of the last dictatorship in Argentina. It serves as a space for community reflection, education, and human rights advocacy.
Anacostia Community Museum (USA)
[Anacostia Community Museum](https://anacostia.si.edu/)
Washington, D.C., USA
A Smithsonian Institution museum, the Anacostia Community Museum explores the impact of social issues on urban communities, with a focus on African American history, culture, and community life in Washington, D.C.
Mobile Museums
Traveling exhibits that move from place to place, often housed in specially designed vehicles, bringing art and culture to different communities. These mobile museums make art, culture, history, and education more accessible by bringing the museum experience directly to communities, often reaching those who might not have easy access to traditional museums.
The Museum of Portable Sound (International)
[Museum of Portable Sound](https://museumofportablesound.com/)
International (based in London, UK, but accessible worldwide)
The Museum of Portable Sound is a unique mobile museum that exists on a single mobile phone. It offers a curated collection of sounds, focusing on the auditory experience rather than visual art. The museum’s "exhibits" can be experienced via private, in-person appointments, or remotely via video call.
Museo Aero Solar (International)
[Museo Aero Solar](http://www.museoaerosolar.org/)
International (various locations)
Museo Aero Solar is a community-based, participatory art project where people from around the world contribute to the creation of a solar-powered hot air balloon made from reused plastic bags. It acts as a floating museum, carrying messages and artworks wherever it travels.
The Freedom Riders National Monument Bus (USA)
[Freedom Riders National Monument](https://www.nps.gov/frri/index.htm)
USA (primarily the Southern states)
This mobile museum is based on a restored Greyhound bus that tells the story of the Freedom Riders, civil rights activists who rode interstate buses into the segregated Southern United States in the 1960s. The bus tours various locations, serving as a mobile history lesson on civil rights.
Truck Art Project (Spain)
[Truck Art Project](https://truckartproject.com/)
Spain (various locations)
The Truck Art Project transforms commercial trucks into mobile works of art, with the vehicles doubling as both transportation and moving canvases. The project features works by contemporary Spanish artists, and the trucks travel across Spain, bringing art to the streets.
The Science and Technology Museum of Japan's "Science Train" (Japan)
[Kagaku-Ginga Science Train](https://www.jrtr.net/jrtr31/pdf/f44_kaw.pdf)
Japan (various locations)
This mobile science museum operates on a specially designed train that travels across Japan, bringing interactive science exhibits to different communities. The train’s cars are outfitted with scientific displays, experiments, and learning stations, focusing on various aspects of science and technology.
The Digital Museum of Digital Art (DiMoDA) (International)
[DiMoDA](https://dimoda.art/)
International (various locations online and in VR)
DiMoDA is a virtual reality-based mobile museum that showcases digital art. Although it exists primarily in digital form, DiMoDA hosts physical exhibitions in various galleries and art spaces around the world, where visitors can experience the virtual art through VR headsets.
The American History Traveling Museum: The Unspoken Truths (USA)
[The Unspoken Truths](https://unspokentruths.org/)
USA (Pacific Northwest)
This traveling museum, curated by historian Delbert Richardson, features a collection of artifacts, stories, and exhibits that highlight African American history. The museum travels to schools, community centers, and events, educating the public on often overlooked aspects of American history.
The Mobile Museum of Modern Art (MoMO) (USA)
[MoMO](https://www.momobilemuseum.com/)
USA (various locations)
The MoMO is a museum on wheels, housed in a retrofitted van, bringing contemporary art directly to communities across the United States. It features rotating exhibits and aims to make modern art accessible to a broader audience by eliminating the need for traditional museum spaces.
The British Museum’s Portable Antiquities Scheme (UK)
[Portable Antiquities Scheme](https://finds.org.uk/)
UK (various locations)
While not a traditional mobile museum, the Portable Antiquities Scheme (PAS) is a program run by the British Museum that records archaeological finds made by the public. PAS has a mobile component where experts travel to various locations to document and share findings with local communities.
Museum on Wheels (India)
[Museum on Wheels](https://www.csmvs.in/museum-on-wheels/)
India (primarily Maharashtra)
Run by the Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Vastu Sangrahalaya (CSMVS) in Mumbai, the Museum on Wheels is a traveling exhibition bus that brings cultural education to schools and rural areas across Maharashtra. The bus is equipped with exhibits, interactive displays, and educational resources.
Pop-Up Museums
Temporary museums or exhibitions that appear for a limited time in various locations, often focusing on specific themes or community-driven content. These pop-up museums are designed to be temporary, often creating buzz through their interactive and visually appealing exhibits. They cater to modern audiences looking for unique, immersive experiences.
The Museum of Ice Cream (USA)
[Museum of Ice Cream](https://www.museumoficecream.com/)
This pop-up museum started in New York City and has since expanded to other locations, including San Francisco, Los Angeles, and Singapore. It offers immersive, Instagram-worthy experiences centered around the theme of ice cream.
The Color Factory (USA)
[Color Factory](https://www.colorfactory.co/)
The Color Factory is an interactive exhibit that first opened in San Francisco and has since traveled to New York and Houston. It focuses on the exploration of color through various immersive installations.
29Rooms (USA)
[29Rooms](https://www.29rooms.com/)
Created by Refinery29, this pop-up art experience travels to different cities across the United States, featuring 29 themed rooms filled with art, interactive installations, and brand collaborations.
The Art of Banksy (International)
[The Art of Banksy](https://www.theartofbanksy.com/)
This touring pop-up exhibition showcases works by the elusive street artist Banksy. It has appeared in various cities worldwide, including London, Melbourne, and Toronto.
Candytopia (USA)
[Candytopia](https://www.candytopia.com/)
Candytopia is a traveling pop-up museum that immerses visitors in a sugary wonderland with candy-themed art installations. It has appeared in cities such as New York, Atlanta, and Miami.
The Museum of Broken Relationships (Croatia/International)
[Museum of Broken Relationships](https://brokenships.com/)
Originating in Zagreb, Croatia, this museum has also appeared as a pop-up in various locations around the world, including Los Angeles and London. It exhibits personal objects donated by people from around the world, each representing a broken relationship.
Van Gogh: The Immersive Experience (International)
[Van Gogh: The Immersive Experience](https://vangoghexpo.com/)
This pop-up exhibition offers an immersive experience into the works of Vincent van Gogh, using digital projections and virtual reality. It has appeared in multiple cities globally, including Brussels, Atlanta, and New York.
Wonderland (Australia)
[Wonderland](https://www.acmi.net.au/whats-on/wonderland/)
This pop-up exhibition by ACMI in Melbourne is based on Lewis Carroll’s "Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland." It features immersive multimedia installations and has traveled to different locations.
Happy Place (USA/Canada)
[Happy Place](https://www.happyplace.me/)
Happy Place is a traveling pop-up exhibit designed to spread happiness, with colorful, interactive installations. It has appeared in cities such as Los Angeles, Chicago, and Toronto.
The Egg House (USA/International)
[The Egg House](https://www.theegghouse.com/)
This quirky pop-up museum started in New York City and features egg-themed installations and interactive exhibits. It has since traveled to other locations, including Shanghai.
Outdoor Museums
These include sculpture parks, heritage sites, or open-air museums where art and artifacts are displayed in natural or urban environments.
These outdoor museums offer unique cultural experiences by blending art, history, and nature, allowing visitors to explore exhibits in dynamic and natural settings.
Skansen (Sweden)
[Skansen](https://www.skansen.se/en)
Stockholm, Sweden
Skansen, founded in 1891, is the world’s oldest open-air museum. It showcases historical buildings and artifacts from all over Sweden, representing different periods in Swedish history. Visitors can explore farmsteads, a town quarter, and interact with living history demonstrations.
The Museum of Old and New Art (MONA) - Moorilla Sculpture Park (Australia)
[MONA](https://mona.net.au/)
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
MONA includes an outdoor sculpture park that features works by contemporary artists in a natural Tasmanian landscape. The sculptures are integrated into the environment, creating a seamless blend of art and nature.
Ekebergparken Sculpture Park (Norway)
[Ekebergparken](https://ekebergparken.com/)
Oslo, Norway
Ekebergparken is a large sculpture park in Oslo that features works by renowned artists such as Salvador Dalí and Louise Bourgeois. The park is set in a historic forested area with scenic views of the city and the Oslofjord.
Vigeland Sculpture Park (Norway)
[Vigeland Museum](https://vigeland.museum.no/en/vigelandpark)
Oslo, Norway
Part of Frogner Park, the Vigeland Sculpture Park is dedicated to the works of Norwegian sculptor Gustav Vigeland. The park features over 200 sculptures in bronze, granite, and wrought iron, making it one of the largest collections of sculptures by a single artist.
Hakone Open-Air Museum (Japan)
[Hakone Open-Air Museum](https://www.hakone-oam.or.jp/en)
Hakone, Japan
This museum is Japan’s first open-air museum, featuring a vast collection of sculptures set against the stunning backdrop of the Hakone mountains. The museum also includes indoor galleries, such as the Picasso Pavilion, which houses works by Pablo Picasso.
St Fagans National Museum of History (Wales)
[St Fagans National Museum of History](https://museum.wales/stfagans/)
Cardiff, Wales
St Fagans is an open-air museum that features reconstructed historical buildings from various parts of Wales, including farmhouses, a school, and a church. The museum offers insights into Welsh culture and history through living history displays and traditional crafts.
The Getty Villa and Gardens (USA)
[Getty Villa](https://www.getty.edu/visit/villa/)
Los Angeles, USA
The Getty Villa is a recreation of a Roman country house, with gardens inspired by ancient Roman architecture. The outdoor spaces include sculptures, fountains, and landscaped gardens, providing a tranquil setting to enjoy art and antiquities.
Inhotim (Brazil)
[Inhotim](https://www.inhotim.org.br/en/)
Brumadinho, Brazil
Inhotim is a unique blend of botanical gardens and contemporary art, with over 500 hectares of land filled with art installations, pavilions, and sculptures by international artists. The outdoor museum is also home to a diverse collection of plant species.
Open-Air Museum of the Lodz Wooden Architecture (Poland)
[Open-Air Museum of the Lodz Wooden Architecture](https://www.msl.org.pl/)
Łódź, Poland
Part of the Museum of the City of Łódź, this open-air museum showcases traditional wooden architecture from the region. It includes historical buildings such as houses, a school, and a church, highlighting the architectural heritage of Łódź.
Vasa Museum’s Outdoor Exhibits (Sweden)
[Vasa Museum](https://www.vasamuseet.se/en)
Stockholm, Sweden
While the Vasa Museum is known for its indoor exhibit of the 17th-century warship, it also has an outdoor area that includes historical reconstructions of shipyard scenes, life-size models, and interactive exhibits related to maritime history.
Experimental Museums
Institutions that challenge traditional museum practices by incorporating interactive, participatory, and interdisciplinary approaches to curation.
The Museum of Innocence (Turkey)
[Museum of Innocence](https://en.masumiyetmuzesi.org/)
Istanbul, Turkey
Created by Nobel Prize-winning author Orhan Pamuk, this museum is based on his novel *The Museum of Innocence*. It blurs the lines between fiction and reality by displaying everyday objects that tell the story of the novel’s characters, creating a unique narrative experience.
Museum of Non-Visible Art (International)
[Museum of Non-Visible Art](http://www.nonvisiblemuseum.com/)
International (virtual)
This museum exists purely in the conceptual realm, displaying works that are described but not physically present. The Museum of Non-Visible Art challenges traditional notions of art by focusing on ideas and imagination, rather than physical objects.
The Museum of Broken Relationships (Croatia/International)
[Museum of Broken Relationships](https://brokenships.com/)
Zagreb, Croatia (and traveling exhibitions worldwide)
This museum collects and displays personal objects donated by people from around the world, each representing a broken relationship. The exhibits are accompanied by stories that provide context, making it a deeply personal and emotional experience.
The Museum of Everything (UK/International)
[Museum of Everything](http://musevery.com/)
London, UK (and various international locations)
The Museum of Everything is dedicated to self-taught, outsider, and marginalized artists. It’s a traveling museum that has hosted exhibitions in locations like London, Paris, and Moscow, often in non-traditional spaces like warehouses and schools.
Micropia (Netherlands)
[Micropia](https://www.micropia.nl/en/)
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Micropia is the world’s first museum dedicated to microbes. It offers an interactive and innovative approach to understanding the invisible world of microorganisms, making it both an educational and experimental experience.
The Future of the Museum (Greece)
[The Future of the Museum](https://thefutureofthemuseum.com/)
Athens, Greece
This museum explores the intersection of art, technology, and society, using experimental formats like VR, AR, and AI to create immersive experiences. It aims to redefine the role of museums in the digital age.
The Museum of Feelings (USA)
[Museum of Feelings](http://www.themuseumoffeelings.com/)
New York City, USA
The Museum of Feelings was a temporary, experimental pop-up museum that explored the connection between emotions and the environment. The museum’s installations changed in response to the mood of New York City, offering an interactive, sensory experience.