Research Guides: Fashion Design: Books & Other Resources

Search Everything

Search for books, articles, images, media, etc.

NEW: Selvedge Online

Selvedge
Online magazine dedicated to textiles.

Fashion Reserves

Fashion Department Reserves List

Research Current Fashion Trends

WGSN
Trend analysis and coverage of the fashion industry. Create a free individual account for full access.

Research World Fashion History

Bloomsbury Fashion Central
E-books and articles on fashion and dress.

Online Fashion Magazines

WWD.com
News and content from all Women's Wear Daily publications. (Not included in Search Everything.)

Rivet
An online magazine dedicated to denim.
Vamp
An online jounal dedicated to footwear.

Sourcing Journal

Sourcing Journal
Focused on sourcing and manufacturing in the apparel industry.

E-Books on Fashion

We Wear Culture - Google Cultural Institute

We Wear Culture - Google Cultural Institute
Google's collaboration with some of the greatest fashion collections in the world. Explore over 400 stories by curators from leading institutions across the world

Selected Surveys of Fashion

The Fashion Book by Alice Mackrell; Phaidon Press Editors
Call Number: GT596 .F38 2013
Fashion: 150 Years by Charlotte Seeling
Call Number: GT596 .S44 2012
Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, 10 vols. by Joanne Bubolz Eicher
Call Number: REF GT507 .E54 2010
Fashion: The Definitive History of Costume and Style by Dorling Kindersley- Smithsonian
Call Number: REF GT511 .F365 2012
A Queer History of Fashion by Valerie Steele (Editor); Hal Rubinstein (Introduction by); Christopher Breward (Contribution by); Shaun Cole (Contribution by); Vicki Karaminas (Contribution by); Jonathan D. Katz; Peter McNeil (Contribution by); Elizabeth Wilson (Contribution by)
Call Number: TT507 .Q62 2013
Fashion in Detail 1700-2000 by Claire Wilcox (Editor)
Call Number: TT504 .F38 2013

Designers / Design Houses

Yves Saint Laurent + Halston by Patricia Mears; Emma McClendon
Call Number: TT505.S24 M43 2015
Alexander Mcqueen by Claire Wilcox (Editor)
Call Number: TT505.M347 A4 2015
Marimekko: in Patterns by Marimekko Notebooks Staff (Created by)
Call Number: NK1035.F53 M372 2014
Attitudes by Sarah Mower (Text by); Marc Ascoli (Contribution by); Gaby Aghion (Foreword by)
Call Number: TT505.C456 M69 2013
Emilio Pucci by Vanessa Friedman; Alessandra Arezzi Boza; Armando Chitolina (Editor); Jutta Hendricks (Editor)
Call Number: TT505.P83 F75 2013
Giambattista Valli by Giambattista Valli; Rania of Jordan (Contribution by); Natasha Fraser-Cavassoni (Text by); Francesco Clemente (Introduction by); Pamela Golbin (Text by); Lee Radziwill (Text by); Diane Kruger (Text by); John Galliano (Text by)
Call Number: TT505.V356 G53 2013
Charles James by Harold Koda; Jan Reeder; Sarah Scaturro
Call Number: TT505.J36 K63 2014
Dries Van Noten by Pamela Golbin; Kaat Debo; Hamish Bowles; Joseph Logan
Call Number: TT505.N67 D74 2014
Shiatzy Chen by Didier Grumbach
Call Number: TT505.W3553 S53 2014
Etro by Renata Molho
Call Number: TT505.A1 E87 2014
Dior Impressions by Florence Muller
Call Number: TT505.D5 D44 2013
Roger Vivier by Virginie Mouzat; Colombe Pringle; Ines de la Fressange (Contribution by); Cate Blanchett (Contribution by); Bruno Frisoni (Contribution by)
Call Number: GT2130 .V58 2013

Fashion Sketching

Illustration Now! Fashion by Julius Wiedemann
Call Number: TT509 .I4 2013
Fashion Illustration for Designers by Kathryn Hagen
Call Number: TT509 .H16 2011
Advanced Fashion Drawing by Steve Donovan; Amanda Johnston; Bill Donovan
Call Number: TT509 .D62 2010
Portfolio Presentation for Fashion Designers by Linda Tain
Call Number: TT507 .T345 2010
Fashion Illustration Techniques by Maite Lafuente
Call Number: TT509 .F345 2008

Research Question?

Ask at the Library Front Desk
Email library@massart.edu
Call 617-879-7150

Sculpture: Richard Artschwager,
Question Mark,1994
Photo: Stefan Baudy, CC-BY License

Video Tutorials

LinkedIn Learning
Video courses in software, creative and business skills.

Get High-Quality Images

Artstor
Image library. Set up an account to download images. (Account registration info here.) (Artstor has been incorporated into Jstor and will be discontinued as a stand-alone resource this summer.)

Image collections to support fashion design:

WGSN Image Library
Images from the catwalk, retail, vintage, as well as fabric swatches, flats, colors, brushes and fills, as well as prints and graphics.

Websites

M2M
Made to Measure (M2M) is a new fashion video network. M2M covers the world of fashion and style – past, present and future — through fresh and culturally relevant storytelling. M2M features original programming, classic fashion films and runway shows from the world’s top designers. M2M’s original series and documentaries highlight the people, issues, trends and events that have defined and transformed the fashion landscape.

Council of Fashion Designers of America
The Council of Fashion Designers of America, Inc. (CFDA) is a not-for-profit trade association whose membership consists of more than 400 of America’s foremost womenswear, menswear, jewelry and accessory designers.

Trend Hunter
With 60,000,000 monthly views, TrendHunter.com is the world's largest, most popular trend community. Our head office is based in Toronto, Canada, and we are fueled by a global network of 155,000 members and 3,000,000 fans.

WGSN Tumbler

Refinery29
A modern woman's destination for how to live a stylish, well-rounded life. Read on for breaking entertainment news, fashion tips, health, and more.

FIT Timeline and Research Hub
Open-access source for fashion history knowledge, featuring objects and artworks from over a hundred museums and libraries that span the globe.

Color Tools

WGSN
WGSN has color libraries including Pantone. It is difficult to navigate to. Choose All Markets in the upper menu and then Create and then Design Resource and lastly Color Libraries. You can create your own palette in the Color Play section if you first set up a free account using your MassArt email as your username.

Pantone Color Finder
Browse Pantone colors and convert them to HTML, RGB, and CMYK values for digital and print.

Pantone +Plus Series Color Bridge by Pantone
Call Number: REF Z258 .P36 2016
Fan decks located in the Reference section of the library. Must be used on site.

Fashion Collections/Institutes

Fashion Museum, Bath
The Museum of Costume was opened in the Assembly Rooms on 23 May 1963. It was founded by Doris Langley Moore, a designer, collector, writer and scholar, who gave her famous private collection of costume to the city of Bath. The Museum of Costume changed its name to the Fashion Museum in summer 2007. The Fashion Museum is owned by Bath and North East Somerset Council and is managed by the Heritage Services section. It is housed in the Assembly Rooms building, which is owned by the National Trust.
LACMA Costume and Textiles
The department houses more than twenty thousand objects, representing more than one hundred cultures and two thousand years of human creativity in the textile arts. Particularly well represented are European Renaissance and European and American textiles, accessories and fashionable dress. The department has outstanding collections of Islamic, South and Southeast Asian, and Asian material, including two major Iranian sixteenth-century carpets—the Ardabil and the Coronation.
The Metropolitan Museum of Art Costume Institute
Limit search to Department Costume Institute.
New York Public Library Andre Studio Collection
xplore an exciting period in the history of fashion through this spectacular collection of drawings and sketches produced by the New York firm André Fashion Studios in the 1930s and early 1940s.
Victoria and Albert Fashion Collection
Spanning four centuries, the V&A’s Fashion collection is the largest and most comprehensive collection of dress in the world. Key items in the collection include rare 17th-century gowns, 18th-century ‘mantua’ dresses, 1930s eveningwear, 1960s daywear and post-war couture. Plus a growing number of pieces from 21st-century designers.