Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MassArt Zine and Minicomic Collection
Books on How To Make Zines and Minicomics
Stolen Sharpie Revolution by This little red book is stuffed with information about zines. Things you may know, stuff you don't know and even stuff you didn t know you didn t know! Stolen Sharpie Revolution contains a cornucopia of information about zines and zine culture for everyone from the zine newbie to the experienced zinester to the academic researcher.
Call Number: Z285.5 .W73 2014
Make a Zine! by Ask anyone who works for a magazineit's a job. Ask anyone who works on their zineit's a passion. This book is destined to be the starting point of self-publishing. You will find the answers to virtually any question you have regarding how to make zines. Includes an introduction to layout, typography, stats, and design as well as an extensive directory of stores. Fun to read even if you don't want to publish!
Call Number: Z479 .B74 2008
Fanzines by For more than 60 years, fanzines have been one of the most significant forms of self-expression. Often handmade and disseminated through underground networks, the fanzine is credited as being both the original medium for many of todays mainstream publications and the predecessor to the blogging craze. This highly visual compendium showcases the best, most thought provoking, and downright weirdest fanzines ever produced. With topics ranging from punk to personal politics, Fanzines includes both widely known fanzines as well as rare publications culled from passionate collectors. Spanning the history of the fanzine from the early experimentation with underground presses to contemporary and electronic fanzines, this is a comprehensive and unprecedented look at a fascinating phenomenon.
Call Number: PN4836 .T755 2010
How to Make Books by From zines you can fold in a minute to luxurious leather journals and sumptuous sketchbooks, How to Make Books will walk you through the easy basics of bookmaking. Whether you’re a writer, a scrapbooker, a political activist, or a postcard collector, let book artist Esther K. Smith be your guide as you discover your inner bookbinder. Using foolproof illustrations and step-by-step instructions, Smith reveals her time-tested techniques in a fun, easy-to-understand way.
Call Number: Z271 .S63 2007
Indie Publishing by Once referred to derisively as "vanity publishing," self-published books are finally taking their place alongside moreaccepted indie categories such as music, film, and theater. Indie Publishing is a practical guide to creating and distributing printed books regardless of your background, skill set, or ambition. It will help you realize projects of every scale and budget, from the traditional bookmaking techniques used to create zines to the more ambitious industrial production methods required to produce hardcover books in large quantity.
Call Number: Z285.5 .I53 2008
Books on the History of Zines and Minicomics
Behind the Zines by Behind the Zines introduces a cutting-edge selection of international zines and examines their role as a catalyst in the evolution of media and graphic design today. The book presents the broad range of existing zines that combine thought-provoking content with compelling design: from project-oriented portfolios and (pseudo) scientific treatises to playrooms where creatives can run riot and publications in which the printing process significantly influences aesthetics. It not only describes the key factors that distinguish various zines, but through interviews with people involved in their production and distribution also sheds light on various strategies for this evolving media form.
Call Number: Z286.Z54 B44 2011
Girl Zines by With names like The East Village Inky, Mend My Dress, Dear Stepdad, and I’m So Fucking Beautiful, zines created by girls and women over the past two decades make feminism’s third wave visible. These messy, photocopied do-it-yourself documents cover every imaginable subject matter and are loaded with handwriting, collage art, stickers, and glitter. Though they all reflect the personal style of the creators, they are also sites for constructing narratives, identities, and communities.
Call Number: PN4836 .P54 2009
Whatcha Mean, What's a Zine? by A zine is a handmade magazine or mini-comic about anything you can imagine: favorite bands, personal stories, subcultures, or collections. They contain diary entries, rants, interviews, and stories. They can be by one person or many, found in stores, traded at comic conventions, exchanged with friends, or given away for free. Zines are not a new idea: they’ve been around for years under various names (chapbooks, flyers, pamphlets). People with independent ideas have been getting their word out since before there were printing presses.
Call Number: Z286.Z54 T63 2006
Notes from Underground by Much history and theory is uncovered here in the first comprehensive study of zine publishing. From their origins in early 20th century science fiction cults, their more proximate roots in ‘60s counter-culture and their rapid proliferation in the wake of punk rock, Stephen Duncombe pays full due to the political importance of zines as a vital network of popular culture. He also analyzes how zines measure up to their utopian and escapist outlook in achieving fundamental social change. Packed with extracts and illustrations, he provides a useful overview of the contemporary underground in all its splendor and misery.
Call Number: PN4878.3 .D86 2008
Zines in Third Space by Develops third-space theory by engaging with zines produced by feminists and queers of color.
Call Number: PN4878.3 .L47 2012
Risomania by Graphic artists and designers from around the world have now rediscovered the risograph for themselves – along with other machines for similar almost forgotten techniques such as mimeography –and sparked an unexpected renaissance of analog printing. A comprehensive introduction that addresses past, present and future is followed by an essay about the key pioneers in the contemporary risography scene. In the chapter Risoworld notable risography-oriented publishers, printers and design studies from around the world are presented. At the heart of the book are fabulous, hugely diverse examples such as postcards, magazines, posters, flyers and experimental printed products, all of which inspire by the force of their color, their unique textures and, above all, the perfectly imperfect authenticity of risography.
Call Number: Z48 .K67 2017
Books of Collected Zines and Minicomics
The Riot Grrrl Collection by For the past two decades, young women (and men) have found their way to feminism through Riot Grrrl. Against the backdrop of the culture wars and before the rise of the Internet or desktop publishing, the zine and music culture of the Riot Grrrl movement empowered young women across the country to speak out against sexism and oppression, creating a powerful new force of liberation and unity within and outside of the women's movement. While feminist bands like Bikini Kill and Bratmobile fought for their place in a male-dominated punk scene, their members and fans developed an extensive DIY network of activism and support. The Riot Grrrl Collection reproduces a sampling of the original zines, posters, and printed matter for the first time since their initial distribution in the 1980s and '90s, and includes an original essay by Johanna Fateman and an introduction by Lisa Darms.
Call Number: ML3534 .R536 2013
Punks Git Cut! by A big brick of a book filled with hundreds of funny drawings by Jay Howell. Contains reprints of his popular zines and books, including “Punks Git Cut," “The Dark Wave,” “Let Me Tell You Where/Where Not To Stick It,“ “Dogs and Dog Information,” “Pages from Books Vol. 1,” “Wicked Wendy, Wild Wolf and Other Fun Drawings,” and more.
Call Number: PN4878.3 .P85 2015
Treasury of Mini Comics by The Treasury of Mini Comics charts the evolution of the art of mini comics over four decades of deliberate cartoon rebellion. In a do-it-yourself world, anything goes…boundaries are crossed, envelopes pushed, wounds opened. From the silliest fart or boob jokes to the most deeply felt “EMO” style poetry, mini comics creators have been uninhibited in their efforts to strive for something fresh, raw, and vital. The Treasury of Mini Comics will be just as groundbreaking as Newave! was disseminating this creative work to a wider and appreciative public.
Call Number: PN6720 .T74 2013
The Collected Hairy Who Publications 1966-1969 Over the course of five exhibitions in Chicago, San Francisco and Washington, DC, The Hairy Who represented a de facto rebuke to the chilly ironies of Pop and forged new ways of crafting figurative painting. As likely to use Plexiglas as canvas and employing a language based on verbal confusion, visual puns and an almost ecstatic use of line and color, the members of the Hairy Who produced publications, posters and even buttons, and their exhibitions were immersive environments unequalled at the time.
The Hairy Who has enjoyed a renewed popularity recently, thanks to a documentary film and multiple exhibitions by the contributing artists. This publication presents all of the printed works related to the Hairy Who exhibitions--important documents in the history of contemporary art and artists' books. Formatted like comic books, they are among the very first full-color self-published artists' books, containing work made especially for publication. Studying these works is important to an understanding of post-1960s art and artists' books.
Call Number: NC1355 C64 2015
Destroy All Monsters Magazine 1976-1979 Formed in 1973, the Detroit band Destroy All Monsters was a wild and reckless synthesis of psychedelia, proto-punk, heavy metal, noise and performance art. The collective hailed from Ann Arbor, Michigan, and consisted of Cary Loren, Mike Kelley, Niagara and Jim Shaw (with later members including Ron Asheton of the Stooges and Michael Davis of the MC5). Later emerging as extremely distinctive individual artists, collectively the group forged new terrain in art, music, performance, theater and video. Destroy All Monsters released very little recorded music until Thurston Moore issued a three-CD compilation in 1994, but they published six issues of a now legendary and much sought-after zine, also titled Destroy All Monsters. This publication collects those six zines, released between 1976 and 1979, and also includes parts of a lost seventh issue that never saw publication. The Destroy All Monsters zines comprise a vibrant array of collage, writing, photography and other miscellanea by Kelley, Loren, Niagara and Shaw, and together provide insight into the collective's kaleidoscopic vision of the dystopian values of their time.
Call Number: ML421 .D478 2011
Find Journal Articles
Art & Architecture Source
Full-text journal articles in art, photography, art education, architecture, art history and related disciplines. Full-text back to 1984. Included in Search Everything.
Full-text coverage of several hundred core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Included in Search Everything.
Search the FLO Catalog for Books, DVDs, etc.